Category Archives: Subject Guides

Icons of Style: Your Library Guide

IconsOfStyleIcons of Style
at The Ringling October 4, 2013-January 5, 2014. This exhibition celebrates the interconnected roles of fashion’s makers, the models who wear their designs, and the media that disseminate those looks to the world. Drawing on the MFA Boston’s rich collection of costumes, fashion illustration, and photography, the exhibition will explore the process of creating icons of style from design concept to runway and finished image.

 

Bibliography
Beaton, Cecil. The glass of Fashion. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1954.

Bergé. Pierre and Yves Saint Laurent.  Yves Saint Laurent.  New York: Universe/Vendome, 1997.

Blackman, Cally.  100 years of Fashion Illustration. London: Laurence King, 2007.

Bott, Daniéle. Chanel: collections and creations. London: Thames & Hudson, 2007.

Savignon, Jéromine, et al.  Yves Saint Laurent.  New York: Abrams, 2010.

Cullerton, Brenda and Geoffrey Beene.  Geoffrey Beene: the anatomy of his work. New York: Abrams, 1995.

Design Museum.  Fifty dresses that changed the world.  London: Conran Octopus Publications, 2009.

Deslandres, Yvonne and Dorthée Lalanne.  Poiret: Paul Poiret, 1899-1944.  New York: Rizzoli, 1987.

Dior, Christian. Little Dictionary of Fashion.  London: Cassell, 1954.

Gross, Michael.  Genuine authentic: the real life of Ralph Lauren.  New York: Harper Collins Publishers, 2003.

Gundle, Stephen. Glamour: a history. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. 

Gunter, Howard.  Gowns by Adrian: the MGM years 1928-1941. New York: H. N. Abrams, 2001.

Haedrich, Marcel pseud. Coco Chanel: her life, her secrets. Boston, Little, Brown, 1972.

Jakubowicz, Florence.   Givenchy: 40 years of creation.  Paris: Paris-Musées, 1991.

Koda, Harold. Poiret. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2007.

Längle, Elizabeth. Pierre Cardin: fifty years of Fashion and Design.  New York: Vendome, 2005.

McDowell, Colin.  Ralph Lauren: the man, the vision, the style.  New York: Rizzoli, 2003.

Medes, Valerie D. and Amy La Haye.  Fashion since 1900. 2nd ed. London: Thames & Hudson, 2010.

Mitchell, Mary. Drawn to fashion: Illustrating three decades of fashion. Lincoln, NB: University of Nebraska Press.

Mulcahy, Susan.  Drawing Fashion: the art of Kenneth Paul Block. New York: Pointed Leaf, 2007.

Neimark, Ira.  The rise of fashion and lessons learned at Bergdorf Goodman.  New York: Fairchild Publications, 2011.

Pellé, Marie Paule and Patrick Maureis. Valentino’s Magic. New York: Abbeville Press, 1990.

Ponchna, Marie France. Christian Dior: the man who made the world look new.  New York: Arcade Pub., 1996.

Reed, Walt.  The Illustrator in America, 1900-1960’s. New York: Reinhold Publishing, 1967.

Saint, Laurent Yves. Yves Saint Laurent: images of design, 1958-1988.  New York: Knopf, 1988.

Sprague, Laurie.  WWD: 100 years, 100 Designers.  New York: Fairchild Books, 2011.

Stelle, Valerie.  Fashion, Italian style. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2003.

Tapert, Annette and Diana Edkins. The power of style: the women who defined the art of living well. New York: Crown, 1994.

Torre. Rosemary.  20th century Fashion illustration: the feminine ideal. Mineola, NY: Dover, 2011.

Weill, Alain. Parisian fashion = La Mode Parisienne: La Gazetter Du Bon Ton, 1912-1925. Paris: Bibliotheque de L’image, 2000.

Related Films
Christian Dior, the man behind the myth (2011).  Philippe Lanfranchi (director). French Connection Films.  DVD
Coco before Chanel (2009). Audrey Tautou, Benoit Poelyoorde, Anne Fontaine (director).  Sony Pictures Classic. DVD
Coco Chanel (2008). Shirley MacLaine, Brigitte Boucher, Christian Duguay (director).  Screen Media. DVD
In Vogue: the editor’s eye (2013).  Fenton Bailey, Randy Barbato (director).  HBO  DVD
Ralph Lauren (2007).  Elizabeth Uss, Jennifer Cipperly.  Designer marathon series, v. 2, no. 4.  Videofashion Network. DV
The September Issue (2009) Anna Wintour.  Lionsgate Home Entertainment.  DVD
Valentino: the last Emperor (2009).  Valentino, Giancarlo Giammetti, Matt Tyrnauer  (director). Phase 4 Films, 2009.  DVD
Yves Saint Laurent – his life and times/5 Avenue Marceau 75116 Paris (2007).  Pierre Berge, Catherine Deneuve, David Teboul (director).  First Run Features. DVD.
Valentino: the last Emperor (2009).  Valentino, Giancarlo Giammetti, Matt Tyrnauer (director). Phase 4 Films, 2009.  DVD
Online Resources
Geoffrey Beene: http://www.geoffreybeene.com/company.html
Bill Blass: http://www.billblass.com/collection.php
Boston Museum of Art: http://www.mfa.org/exhibitions/icons-style
Pierre Cardin: http://www.pierrecardin.com
Oleg Cassini: http://www.olegcassini.com/
House of Chanel: http://www.chanel.com/
House of Dior: http://www.dior.com/
Givenchy: http://www.givenchy.com/
Karl Lagerfeld: http://www.karl.com/
Isaac Mizrahi: http://www.isaacmizrahiny.com/
Oscar de la Renta: http://www.oscardelarenta.com/
Valentino: http://www.valentino.com
Versace: http://us.versace.com/
Yves Saint Laurent: http://www.ysl.com/
Museum Resources
The Ringling Special exhibitions:
http://www.ringling.org/Exhibitions2.aspx?id=14528

The Boston Museum of Fine Arts:
http://www.mfa.org/exhibitions/icons-style

Contact Us
Download the PDF version: Icons of Style. For more information, contact us at library@ringling.org.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion, Library, Subject Guides, The Ringling Art Library

American Moderns: Your Library Guide

American Moderns, 1910-1960: From O’Keeffe to Rockwell
June 14, 2013 – September 8, 2013
The Ringling

American ModernsThis exhibition presents fifty-seven artworks from the collection of the Brooklyn Museum in an exploration of the myriad ways in which American artists engaged with modernity. Ranging widely in subject matter and style, the fifty-three paintings and four sculptures were produced by leading artists of the day, including Georgia O’Keeffe, Milton Avery, Marsden Hartley, Stuart Davis, Arthur Dove, Rockwell Kent, Joseph Stella, Elie Nadelman, and Norman Rockwell. Significant works by these and other artists in the exhibition exemplify their unique contributions to modern culture.

Books

Click on the link to be taken to the Library catalog.

Armstrong, Tom, etc. 200 Years of American Sculpture. Boston: David R. Godine in association with the Whitney Museum of American Art, 1976.

Amason, H. H., and Elizabeth C. Mansfield.  History of Modern Art: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography. 6th ed.  Upper Saddle River, NJ:  Pearson, Prentice-Hall, 2010.

Baigell, Matthew. The   American scene: American painting of the 1930’s. New York: Praeger, 1974.

Carbone, Teresa A., ed. Youth and Beauty: Art of the American Twenties. New York: Brooklyn Museum in association with Skira Rizzoli, 2011.

Contreras, Belisario R. Tradition and innovation in New Deal Art.  Lewisburg, PA: Bucknell University Press, 1983.

Corn, Wanda M. The great American thing: Modern Art and National identity, 1915-1935. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1999.

Cox, Neil. Cubism. London:  Phaidon, 2000.

Doss, Erika. Twentieth-Century American Art. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.

Fer, Briony, David Batchelor and Paul Wood.  Realism, rationalism, surrealism:  Art between the wars. New Haven: Yale University Press in association with the Open University, 1993.

Fitzgerald, Michael C.  Picasso and American Art. New York: Whitney Museum of American Art in association with Yale University Press, 2006.

Greenough, Sarah, ed. Modem Art and America: Alfred Stieglitz and his New York galleries. Washington, DC: National Gallery of Art; Boston: Bulfinch Press, 2000.

Haskell, Barbara.  The American century: art and culture, 1900-1950. New York: Whitney Museum of American Art in association with W. W. Norton, 1999.

Hills, Patricia. Modern Art in the USA: issues and controversies of the 20th century. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2001.

Lane, John R., and Susan C. Larsen, eds. Abstract painting and sculpture in America, 1927-1944. Pittsburgh: Museum of Art, Carnegie Institute in association with Harry N. Abrams, 1983.

Levin, Gail and Marianne Lorenz. Theme and Improvisation: Kandinsky and the American Avant-Garde, 1912-1950. Boston: Little, Brown, 1992.

Lucie-Smith, Edward.  American realism.  London: Thames and Hudson, 2002.

Mecklenburg, Virginia M. The Patricia and Phillip Frost collection: American Abstraction, 1930-1945.  Washington, DC: Published for the National Museum of American Art by the  Smithsonian Institution Press, 1989.

Montclair Art Museum.  Precisionism in America, 1915-1941: Reordering Reality. New York: Harry N. Abrams in association with the Montclair Art Museum, 1994.

Sherry, Karen A.  American moderns, 1910-1960: from O’Keeffe to Rockwell.  New York: Pomegranate Communications, Inc., in collaboration with the Brooklyn Museum, 2012.

Stavitsky, Gail and Katherine Rothkopf, eds. Cézanne and American Modernism.  Montclair, NJ: Montclair Art Museum; Baltimore: Baltimore Museum of Art; New Haven: Yale University Press, 2009.

Electronic Resources                              

George Wesley Bellows: http://www.georgebellows.com/

Guy Pène du Bois: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSnjFSu7Gkg

Stuart Davis: http://www.moma.org/collection/artist.php?artist_id=1412

Arthur G. Dove: http://www.phillipscollection.org/research/american_art/bios/dove-bio.htm

Reginald Marsh: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJjEJTe4848 & http://www.aaa.si.edu/collections/reginald-marsh-papers-9072/more

Grandma Moses (Anna Mary Robertson Moses): http://www.nmwa.org/explore/artist-profiles/grandma-moses-anna-mary-robertson-moses

Norman Rockwell: http://www.nrm.org/

Max Weber: http://www.nga.gov/exhibitions/weber_1.htm

Museum Resources                                 

Brooklyn Museum of Art
http://www.brooklynmuseum.org/exhibitions/american_moderns/touring.php

Delaware Museum of Art
http://delart.org/american_moderns

Everson Museum of Art
http://www.everson.org/home.php

Georgia O’Keeffe Museum
http://www.okeeffemuseum.org/

The Ringling
http://www.ringling.org/

For further assistance please contact us at library@ringling.org.
PDF: AmericanModernsSubjectGuide

Leave a comment

Filed under Artists, Library, Subject Guides